The core tension between SSPN and ASNB for education savings is a tax relief question, not a returns question.
SSPN's defining advantage is the RM8,000/year income tax deduction — an instrument that, for parents in the 19–25% bands, saves 19–25 sen of tax for every ringgit contributed in the first year, on top of whatever dividend PTPTN declares. ASNB's flagship fund (ASB) paid higher raw distributions — 5.75 sen per unit for 2024 and 2025 — but is restricted to Bumiputera investors and comes with zero tax incentive specifically for education.
The answer for most Malaysian families is not either/or. It is: use SSPN to the RM8,000 relief ceiling first, then deploy remaining education savings into ASNB or ASB (if eligible). But the weighting depends on your tax bracket, your ethnicity eligibility, and whether you need flexibility to access savings before university starts.
This guide works through each product, then gives you a clear verdict.
- Relief per taxpayer
- up to RM8,000 a year
- Saved at the 19% band
- RM1,520
- Saved at the 25% band
- RM2,000
Last updated 25 October 2026 · money.com.my Editorial
Budget 2027 proposals (note of 17 October 2026)
Budget 2027, tabled on 9 October 2026, includes proposals that would apply from YA2027 (the return filed in 2028) once the Finance Bill is passed. They are proposals, not law, and every YA2025 and YA2026 figure in this guide is unchanged. The bands in the tax-saving table below are the YA2025 ones.
- Two middle bands: RM70,001 to RM100,000 at 18% (down from 19%) and RM100,001 to RM150,000 at 24% (down from 25%); RM150,001 to RM400,000 stays at 25% (Lampiran 1, pp.4-5).
Source: Ministry of Finance, Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), belanjawan.mof.gov.my, checked against the published PDF on 17 October 2026. Full list: Budget 2027.
What Is SSPN?
SSPN — Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (National Education Savings Scheme) — is operated by PTPTN (Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional), the same government body that manages Malaysia's student loan programme.
PTPTN has renamed the two products under the SSPN umbrella:
- Simpan SSPN Prime (formerly SSPN-i) — the base savings product with no monthly commitment. You deposit, earn the annual dividend, and can withdraw under PTPTN's rules. It includes free takaful cover for depositors with RM1,000 or more (aged 16 to 65).
- Simpan SSPN Plus (formerly SSPN-i Plus) — savings with a paid takaful package from four operators, from RM30 a month. Part of each payment goes to takaful rather than savings.
Both products are eligible for net-deposit tax relief of up to RM8,000 a year (PTPTN says to assessment year 2027).
Eligibility: Open to all Malaysian citizens regardless of race or religion (PTPTN: the depositor must be at least 16). Simpan SSPN Prime is Shariah-compliant and open to any Malaysian citizen.
Account structure: Held by the depositor for a named beneficiary aged under 29, who is usually the child. You can open separate SSPN accounts for each child — but the RM8,000 tax relief limit is on your net deposit, not per account.
Minimum deposit: PTPTN's FAQ gives RM20 for top-ups by JomPAY and direct debit; we could not confirm a minimum for other channels (an earlier version said RM1).
- Products
- Simpan SSPN Prime; Simpan SSPN Plus (paid takaful, from RM30 a month)
- Open to
- all Malaysian citizens, depositor at least 16
- Beneficiary
- aged under 29
- Top-ups by JomPAY or direct debit
- RM20 minimum
SSPN Returns — What PTPTN Has Declared
SSPN dividends are declared annually by PTPTN based on the scheme's investment returns for that year. PTPTN describes its investments as long-term fixed deposits and sukuk (2024 dividend release). Earlier versions said primarily Malaysian government securities, sukuk and fixed-income instruments, which PTPTN does not say.
PTPTN's announcements give these declared dividends (the older years could not be confirmed from PTPTN's site):
| Year | SSPN dividend declared by PTPTN |
|---|---|
| 2023 | 3.60% (PTPTN) |
| 2022 | 3.05% (PTPTN) |
| 2021 | Not confirmed (HELD) |
| 2020 | Not confirmed (HELD) |
| 2019 | Not confirmed (HELD) |
PTPTN also declared 4.05% for 2024, which it called the highest in 10 years. A news report of 6 May 2026 gives 4.10% for 2025, but we found no PTPTN page for it, so it is unconfirmed. Earlier versions of this table gave approximate figures (about 4.0% for 2019, 2021, 2022 and 2023, 3.5% for 2020); the 2022 and 2023 figures were wrong and the others could not be confirmed. Verify the current declared rate at ptptn.gov.my or the myPTPTN app before making contribution decisions.
The dividend is not guaranteed — PTPTN declares it each year after the financial year closes. An earlier version added that the scheme had held a broadly stable rate over the past decade; PTPTN's announcements show rates rising from 3.05% in 2022 to 4.05% in 2024, and we could not confirm older years (HELD).
The Tax Relief — SSPN's Structural Edge
This is where SSPN separates from every other savings product in Malaysia.
The limit: Up to RM8,000 per year for your net deposit in SSPN (total deposits in the year minus total withdrawals in the year, per LHDN). PTPTN adds that withdrawals for tertiary education fees are left out of that calculation. Claimed under personal income tax reliefs in your LHDN e-Filing return.
The household angle: PTPTN says that under separate assessment the relief is claimed by one of the depositors (the child's father or mother), and under joint assessment the parents claim it together. An earlier version said each spouse could claim the RM8,000 independently, for up to RM16,000 a year; we could not confirm that against PTPTN's rules or LHDN's table (HELD), so it is removed.
What this means in ringgit — a worked example:
Assume you earn RM8,000/month (annual gross RM96,000). After standard reliefs, your chargeable income falls somewhere in the RM70,001–RM100,000 bracket, taxed at 19%.
You contribute RM8,000 to SSPN this year. That RM8,000 is deducted from your chargeable income.
Tax saving: RM8,000 × 19% = RM1,520
Your RM8,000 contribution also earns approximately 4% dividend (PTPTN declared 4.05% for 2024) = RM320.
Combined benefit in Year 1: RM1,840 (RM1,520 tax saved + RM320 dividend).
- Tax saved RM1,520
- Dividend at about 4% RM320
That is an effective first-year return of 23% on your RM8,000 contribution — primarily driven by the tax relief. In Year 2 and beyond, the tax relief repeats on fresh contributions while the accumulated balance earns the dividend independently.
| Tax Bracket | Rate | Tax Saved on RM8,000 SSPN |
|---|---|---|
| RM100,001 – RM400,000 | 25% | RM2,000 |
| RM70,001 – RM100,000 | 19% | RM1,520 |
| RM50,001 – RM70,000 | 11% | RM880 |
| RM35,001 – RM50,000 | 6% | RM480 |
| RM20,001 – RM35,000 | 3% | RM240 |
| Below RM20,001 | 0–1% | Minimal benefit |
Critical point: The relief is on your net deposit this year, not your total accumulated balance. A net deposit of RM8,000 gives relief on RM8,000; a net deposit of RM4,000 gives relief on RM4,000. Unused relief cannot be carried forward.
For parents in the 11% band or below (chargeable income up to RM70,000), the tax relief benefit is modest (RM880 or less). At that income level, ASNB's higher raw returns and full flexibility may be a better fit.
For parents in the 19%+ bands, SSPN's tax-adjusted return makes it hard to beat with any comparable low-risk instrument.
SSPN Withdrawal Rules — Not Education-Only
An earlier version of this section said withdrawals are restricted to eligible higher education expenses and listed approved institutions and a 7 to 14 working day release time. PTPTN's FAQ says something different for Simpan SSPN Prime: savings can be withdrawn at any time under PTPTN's rules, by the depositor only (not the child), through a PTPTN counter, PTPTN's portal or selected ATMs, with no charge. Online withdrawals are capped at RM1,000 a day per account and there is no limit at a counter; a counter withdrawal is credited within 14 working days of complete documents. For Simpan SSPN Plus the savings part can be withdrawn only after three years from opening, keeping at least RM1,000.
What the rules change for tax: only withdrawals for tertiary education fees (diploma, degree, master's or doctorate, as LHDN defines them) are left out of the net deposit used for the relief. Any other withdrawal in the year lowers the relief you can claim. The Prime account also has to be closed when the beneficiary turns 29.
- Simpan SSPN Prime
- any time, by the depositor only, no charge
- Online
- up to RM1,000 a day per account
- At a counter
- no limit; credited within 14 working days of complete documents
- Simpan SSPN Plus
- only after three years, keeping at least RM1,000
- Tax relief
- only tertiary-fee withdrawals are left out of the net deposit
The real-world implication: If your child pursues a vocational path, starts a business, or does not attend higher education, you can still withdraw, but the withdrawal costs you relief that year. If you are uncertain about your child's education path, weigh that cost against the flexibility of ASNB or a fixed deposit.
What Is ASNB?
ASNB — Amanah Saham Nasional Berhad — is a unit trust management company wholly owned by PNB (Permodalan Nasional Berhad), one of Malaysia's largest institutional fund managers. PNB invests in diversified Malaysian and international equities, fixed income, and property, holding significant stakes in Maybank, Tenaga Nasional, CIMB, and Petronas-linked entities.
ASNB manages a family of funds. The relevant ones for education savings:
Bumiputera funds (fixed unit price at RM1.00):
- ASB (Amanah Saham Bumiputera) — the flagship, maximum RM300,000 per investor (raised from RM200,000 in 2023)
- ASB 2 (Amanah Saham Bumiputera 2) — a separate RM300,000 maximum on top of ASB's, typically pays slightly lower dividend than ASB
- ASB 3 Didik — formerly Amanah Saham Didik (ASD). An adult account for Bumiputera aged 18 and above, with a guardian-held Akaun Bijak for minors. ASNB also opens it to Malaysians of Siamese/Thai descent, Portuguese/Eurasian descendants, and non-Bumiputera Muslim converts. No investment cap. Latest distribution 5.25 sen per unit for the year ended 30 June 2025.
Open to all Malaysians — also fixed price at RM1.00:
- ASM (Amanah Saham Malaysia) — 5.00 sen per unit for the year ended 31 March 2026
- ASM 2 Wawasan — 4.75 sen for the year ended 31 August 2025
- ASM 3 — 4.75 sen for the year ended 30 September 2025
Open to all Malaysians — variable price (NAV fluctuates):
- ASN Equity series, ASN Imbang series, ASN Sara series, ASN Sukuk
The fixed-price funds hold their unit price at RM1.00 — your capital does not fluctuate day to day. Returns come entirely from annual income distributions declared by PNB. Being non-Bumiputera does not push you into a variable-price fund: the ASM family is fixed-price and open to all Malaysians.
The variable-price funds (the ASN series) are priced on the fund's net asset value, so your investment value can rise or fall before distributions are declared.
None of the ASNB fixed-price funds above carries a per-investor ringgit cap except ASB and ASB 2. For the rest, ASNB states the maximum as "unlimited, subject to availability of units of the Fund" — the real constraint is whether units are on offer, not a limit on you.
Key fee distinction: ASNB's product pages for ASB and ASM list no sales charge, and ASB's page lists no repurchase charge. We found no management-fee figure on the pages we read, so we do not say who bears it (HELD). This is materially different from bank-distributed unit trusts, which typically charge 3–5% upfront.
ASNB Returns — ASB's Track Record
ASB is the benchmark because it is the most widely held ASNB fund:
| Year | ASB Income | Bonus | Total Distribution |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 5.20% | 0.55% | 5.75% |
| 2024 | 5.50% | 0.25% | 5.75% |
| 2023 | 4.25% | 1.00% | 5.25% |
| 2022 | 3.35% | 1.25% | 4.60% |
| 2021 | 4.25% | 0.75% | 5.00% |
| 2020 | 3.50% | 0.75% | 4.25% |
- Income
- Bonus
Figures are PNB/ASNB declared income distributions per unit (equivalent to % on the RM1.00 ASB unit). The 2024 (5.50 + 0.25 = 5.75 sen) and 2023 (5.25 sen) figures are from PNB's official press releases; 2020's 4.25 sen (3.50 income + 0.75 bonus) was the lowest in at least the last six years, in the pandemic year — we have not verified ASB's full record back to its 1990 launch. PNB also paid an extra 0.75 sen "Ehsan" top-up in 2020 on a holder's first 30,000 units only, which is why some third-party sites quote a higher 2020 figure. Check asnb.com.my for the latest declared rates. See our full ASNB funds guide for the complete history and every fund.
ASB dividends are described as tax-exempt (not re-checked, HELD) — we did not re-check the LHDN treatment of ASNB distributions. Fixed deposit interest from a licensed Malaysian bank is also tax-exempt for resident individuals, so tax is not the differentiator here — the gap is in the headline rate itself: ASB's 5.75% against 12-month FD board rates of 1.80–1.90% p.a. at CIMB, Hong Leong, AmBank, Public Bank and RHB, or 3.60–3.90% p.a. on time-limited 12-month campaigns at five banks (both 11 October 2026).
ASNB lists ASB at a fixed RM1.00 unit price. We have not verified from a primary source that ASB has paid a distribution every year since its 1990 launch or that its price has never fallen below RM1.00 (HELD). Even a long record would not be a legal guarantee, and ASB is not covered by PIDM.
For non-Bumiputera investors using the open funds (ASM, ASM 2 Wawasan, ASM 3): these are fixed-price funds at RM1.00, so the price risk that applies to the ASN series does not apply here. What differs from ASB is the distribution rate and the financial year end. ASNB's most recent declared rates are 5.00 sen per unit for ASM (year ended 31 March 2026), 4.75 sen for ASM 2 Wawasan (31 August 2025) and 4.75 sen for ASM 3 (30 September 2025) — a little below ASB's 5.75 sen, but on the same fixed-price basis. Check the fund's page on asnb.com.my for the current declared rate before you commit.
ASNB Accessibility — The Full Flexibility Advantage
ASNB has no withdrawal restrictions. You can withdraw any amount at any time for any purpose — education fees, house deposit, emergency, living expenses, or simply to shift the money elsewhere.
Redemptions are processed within T+2 to T+4 business days through:
- The myASNB app (fastest — digital redemption request)
- ASNB branches (over-the-counter)
- Agent banks: Maybank, CIMB, Affin Bank, and others
There is no penalty for early withdrawal on any ASNB fund. You receive whatever units you hold at the current price (fixed RM1.00 for ASB; prevailing NAV for variable funds).
- Processing
- T+2 to T+4 business days
- Channels
- myASNB app, branches, agent banks
- Early-withdrawal penalty
- none
- PIDM
- not covered (unit trust)
No PIDM protection: ASNB is a unit trust investment, not a bank deposit. It is not covered by PIDM (Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia). The statutory protection that applies to FDs (up to RM250,000 per depositor per bank) does not extend to ASNB. For families who want legally-guaranteed capital protection, fixed deposits at BNM-licensed banks remain the only PIDM-covered option.
Head-to-Head Comparison
| Feature | SSPN | ASNB — ASB | ASNB — Open Funds (ASM etc.) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tax relief | RM8,000/year | None | None |
| Returns (recent) | 3.05% to 4.05% declared (2022 to 2024) | 5.75% total (2024–2025) | 4.75–5.00 sen (ASM family) |
| Returns: tax-free? | Yes | Described as tax-exempt (not re-checked, HELD) | Described as tax-exempt (not re-checked, HELD) |
| Withdrawal restriction | Depositor only; online cap RM1,000 a day; Plus after 3 years (PTPTN) | None — anytime | None — anytime |
| Eligibility | All Malaysians | Bumiputera only | All Malaysians |
| Unit price / capital | Savings guaranteed by the Government (PTPTN) | Fixed RM1.00 (stable) | Fixed RM1.00 (ASM family) |
| PIDM coverage | No (PTPTN scheme) | No (unit trust) | No (unit trust) |
| Minimum investment | RM20 by JomPAY or direct debit (PTPTN) | RM10 | RM10 |
| Max investment | No cap found on PTPTN's pages | RM300,000 | No cap (unit availability) |
| Sales charge | None | None | None |
| Management fee | Not verified (HELD) | Not stated on ASNB's page (HELD) | Not stated on ASNB's page (HELD) |
| Best for | Tax relief capture | Bumiputera wealth building | Non-bumi / flexible savings |
Verdict — Daniel Lim's Take
This is not a close call once you know your tax bracket and eligibility.
If you're in the 19%+ bracket with children heading toward university:
SSPN wins. The RM8,000 tax relief is worth RM1,520–2,000 per year in actual tax saved. That is a benefit that arrives before your child takes a single step into a lecture hall. We have not compared every investment product in Malaysia, so we no longer say none delivers an equivalent first-year boost. Aim for a net deposit of RM8,000 a year. An earlier version told a dual-income household to open separate accounts for RM16,000 of combined relief; we could not confirm that two parents can each claim RM8,000 (HELD), so check with LHDN before planning for it.
If you're Bumiputera in a lower tax bracket (11% or below):
ASB is the stronger primary vehicle. The distribution advantage (ASB's 5.75 sen for 2024 and 2025 against SSPN's declared 4.05% for 2024) is real, the returns are described as tax-exempt (not re-checked, HELD), there is no withdrawal restriction, and your savings remain accessible if plans change. The tax relief benefit at the 1–11% bracket is too modest to compensate for SSPN's withdrawal rules, which cost you relief on non-education withdrawals. Open a small SSPN account to maintain the habit (and claim whatever relief applies), but your main education savings should sit in ASB.
If you're non-Bumiputera in a lower tax bracket:
This is the closest call in the guide, and the usual argument for SSPN does not hold. ASNB's open funds — ASM, ASM 2 Wawasan, ASM 3 — are fixed price at RM1.00, exactly like ASB, so "SSPN is the more stable one" is not a real distinction. On the numbers, ASM's 5.00 sen beats SSPN's declared 3.05% to 4.05% (2022 to 2024), it is described the same way (tax-exempt, not re-checked, HELD), and withdrawing from it never costs you tax relief.
What SSPN still has is the tax relief: RM880 saved on an RM8,000 contribution at the 11% bracket, which is a bigger first-year gain than the roughly 1 point distribution difference. So SSPN wins on the relief alone, for as long as you are actually paying enough tax to use it. If your chargeable income is low enough that the relief is worth little, an ASM-family fund is the better home for education money — you give up nothing on stability and you keep access to the cash without losing relief.
The practical combination strategy:
Most families do not have to choose. These products coexist and complement each other:
- Open SSPNaim for a net deposit of RM8,000 a year to claim the full tax relief
- Open ASB(if Bumiputera) — park additional education savings and general savings here for the higher dividend and full flexibility
- Or open an ASM-family fund(non-Bumiputera) — ASM, ASM 2 Wawasan or ASM 3, for flexible savings beyond the SSPN pot
- Reinvest the tax savingseach year’s RM1,520 (or RM2,000) in tax relief can be redirected straight into SSPN or ASB, compounding the advantage
The worst outcome is paralysis — picking neither while savings sit in a current account earning 0.5%. Open both accounts in the same month. Decide on weighting later.
How to Open Both
Opening an SSPN Account
Via the myPTPTN app: PTPTN says accounts can be opened through the myPTPTN app (with eKYC), at ptptn.gov.my or at a PTPTN counter. An earlier version said approval takes 1 to 3 working days and listed the documents; we could not confirm either (HELD).
Via PTPTN branch: Visit a PTPTN counter and ask which documents it needs for the depositor and the beneficiary.
Top-ups: Via JomPAY (PTPTN's FAQ gives a RM20 minimum), direct debit ("Debit Terus", RM20 minimum), salary deduction, the myPTPTN app or a PTPTN counter.
- Open the accountIn the myPTPTN app (with eKYC), at ptptn.gov.my or at a PTPTN counter.
- Top upBy JomPAY or direct debit (RM20 minimum), salary deduction, the myPTPTN app or a PTPTN counter.
- Claim the reliefWhen e-Filing, declare your net SSPN deposit under the SSPN relief item; keep your PTPTN statements for seven years after the end of the year in which you file.
Tax claim: When e-Filing (YA2025, filed in 2026), declare your net SSPN deposit under the SSPN relief item. Keep your PTPTN statements or transaction records for seven years after the end of the year in which you file the return (LHDN's Form BE notes).
Opening an ASNB Account
Via myASNB app or asnb.com.my: Register online with your MyKad. Link a bank account. Invest directly through the portal. Set up a monthly standing instruction to auto-invest.
Via ASNB branches: Walk in with your MyKad. First-time registration can be done over the counter.
Via agent banks: Maybank, CIMB, Affin Bank, and selected others have ASNB counters. Some Maybank branches allow ASB account opening alongside a Maybank savings account.
Minimum to start: RM10. No sales charge deducted.
- Register with your MyKadmyASNB app, asnb.com.my, a branch or an agent bank.
- Link a bank account
- Invest from RM10No sales charge deducted.
- Set a monthly standing instructionTo auto-invest.
Related Guides
- SSPNRM8,000/year tax relief · 3.05% to 4.05% declared (2022 to 2024) · withdraw any time, but non-education withdrawals cut the relief · all MalaysiansASBno tax relief · 5.75% total (2024–2025) · withdraw any time · Bumiputera only
- ASM familyno tax relief · 4.75–5.00 sen · withdraw any time · all MalaysiansBank fixed depositPIDM-covered up to RM250,000; the only PIDM-covered option here
- SSPN Deep Dive — How the Education Savings Account With Tax Relief Works
- ASNB and ASB Explained — All the Funds, Dividends, and How to Invest
- Income Tax Reliefs Malaysia 2026 — Complete List and How to Claim
- Fixed Deposit vs ASNB — Which Gives Better Returns in Malaysia?
- PRS — Private Retirement Scheme Malaysia Explained (Another Tax Relief Option)
Dividend rates and tax relief limits may change — verify current figures at ptptn.gov.my, asnb.com.my, and hasil.gov.my before making decisions.
Three Takes is an AI-assisted editorial format — three distinct analytical lenses on each Malaysian finance topic (Growth, Steady, Action), reviewed for accuracy by our editorial process before publication.
Amendment, 10 October 2026. The SSPN tax-saving table used rates and brackets that are not LHDN's current schedule, 24% (RM70,001–RM100,000), 21% (RM50,001–RM70,000), 18% (RM35,001–RM50,000) and 13% (RM20,001–RM35,000), and the text said 24% was the bracket. They now show LHDN's resident-individual bands for Year of Assessment 2023, 2024 and 2025: 0%, 1%, 3%, 6%, 11%, 19%, 25%, 26%, 28% and 30% (hasil.gov.my/en/individu/kadar-cukai/, last updated 26 June 2026). Tax at the top of each band is RM150, RM600, RM1,500, RM3,700 and RM9,400 (to RM100,000), then RM84,400, RM136,400 and RM528,400. The worked example now uses the 19% band: RM8,000 × 19% = RM1,520 tax saved, plus RM320 dividend = RM1,840, a first-year return of 23%, not RM1,920, RM2,240 and 28%. The tax-saving table is recalculated (RM2,000, RM1,520, RM880, RM480, RM240) and the verdict's bracket thresholds now read 19% and 11%. Still outstanding: the RM8,000 SSPN relief cap, the dividend rates and the guide's other figures were not re-checked in this amendment.
Amendment, 11 October 2026 (fixed deposit rates). In its ASB section the guide compared ASB's 5.75% with the best 12-month FD board rates; the guide said "roughly 3.0–4.0%". Our fixed deposit guide has corrected that range, which also mixed board and campaign rates. It is now 1.80–1.90% p.a. for 12-month board rates at CIMB, Hong Leong, AmBank, Public Bank and RHB and 3.60–3.90% p.a. for time-limited 12-month campaigns at five banks (ending 31 October to 31 December 2026), both on 11 October 2026. We checked the banks' own pages and campaign terms on 11 October 2026 for our fixed deposit guide, whose amendment of that date records the check. The SSPN and ASB figures were not re-checked in this amendment. Confirm any rate on the bank's own page before acting on it.
Amendment, 11 October 2026 (wording). In the amendment note above, the sentence that introduced a superseded figure now names the guide as the subject ("the guide said" or "the guide's … said"), so it reads plainly as the old text rather than a bank's own page. No figure in this guide changed.
Amendment, 11 October 2026 (wording). In the amendment notes above, each superseded figure is now introduced by "the guide said" or "gave … as", so it reads plainly as the old figure rather than a current one. No figure in this guide changed.
Amendment, 17 October 2026 (SSPN relief basis). The RM8,000 relief cap is confirmed by LHDN's reliefs table for Year of Assessment 2025 (hasil.gov.my/en/individu/pelepasan-cukai/, last updated 26 June 2026), item 13: "Net deposit in Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional (SSPN) (Net deposit is the total deposit in 2025 MINUS total withdrawal in 2025)", RM8,000. The FAQ said to "contribute at least RM8,000/year"; it now says to aim for a net deposit of RM8,000 a year, because LHDN counts deposits minus withdrawals in the year. The dividend rates and the guide's other figures were not re-checked in this amendment.
Amendment, 17 October 2026 (Budget 2027 note). Added a note after the introduction on the YA2027 middle bands, while the tax-saving table keeps the YA2025 ones (Budget 2027, tabled 9 October 2026). Each figure was checked against the Ministry of Finance PDF it cites (sha256 recorded in docs/verification-log/geo-trim-budget27-oct17/evidence.md; Budget 2027 data rows: tax-rates-70k-150k). They are proposals or announcements, not law. No YA2025 or YA2026 figure, rule or source in this guide was changed.
Amendment, 17 October 2026 (management fee). The guide said PNB "absorbs the management cost" of every ASNB fund, and the comparison table said the management fee is "Absorbed by PNB" (and "Absorbed by PTPTN" for SSPN). Per docs/verification-log/evidence-batch-a-oct17 (evidence.md ASB and ASM rows; saved ASNB product pages and PNB release), ASNB's product pages state no sales charge and no repurchase charge but do not state a management fee, so the "absorbed" claims are removed and held. The SSPN entry was not sourced in this batch and is also held.
Amendment, 17 October 2026 (review follow-up). The comparison table said "Yes" under "Returns: tax-free?" for ASB and the ASM family. It now says the dividends are described as tax-exempt, not re-checked (HELD), matching our other guides. No figure changed. Second pass: the same HELD wording now replaces "tax-exempt" (ASB dividends, the verdict on ASB) and "equally tax-free" (ASM) elsewhere in the guide, and the sentence that said ASB dividends are not declared in e-Filing and carry no withholding tax is removed. No figure changed.
Follow-up amendment, 17 October 2026 (evidence batch J). We re-checked this guide's SSPN statements against PTPTN's own pages (Simpan SSPN Prime and Plus, the FAQ, the 2023 and 2024 dividend announcements) and LHDN's YA2025 relief table, read on 17 October 2026; the ASNB figures were checked in evidence batch A and were not re-read. Corrected: (1) Names. SSPN-i is now Simpan SSPN Prime and SSPN-i Plus is now Simpan SSPN Plus (PTPTN). (2) Withdrawals. The guide said SSPN withdrawals are "education only" in the section heading, the FAQ on a child who does not go to university, the table and the verdict. PTPTN's FAQ says Prime can be withdrawn at any time under its rules (depositor only, online up to RM1,000 a day, counter credited within 14 working days, no charge) and Plus after three years; only withdrawals for tertiary education fees are left out of the net deposit used for the relief. The heading "SSPN Withdrawal Rules — Education Only" is now "SSPN Withdrawal Rules — Not Education-Only". (3) Dividends. The table gave "~4.0%" for 2023 and 2022; PTPTN declared 3.60% (2023), 3.05% (2022) and 4.05% (2024); 2019 to 2021 could not be confirmed and are held; the "3.5–4.5% range", "stable over the past decade" and "invests primarily in government securities and sukuk" statements are removed. A 6 May 2026 news report of 4.10% for 2025 is not on PTPTN's site and is unconfirmed. (4) Household relief. The "each parent claims RM8,000, RM16,000 combined" claim, in the relief section and the verdict, is not in PTPTN's rules (one depositor claims under separate assessment), so it is held and removed. (5) Minimum deposit. "RM1" is replaced by PTPTN's RM20 for JomPAY and direct debit top-ups. (6) The takaful description: Prime has free cover; Plus is a paid package from RM30 a month with four operators. (7) "Opening an SSPN account via myASNB app" now says myPTPTN; the 1 to 3 working day approval time is removed. Not changed: the YA2025 tax-saving table and bands (checked on 10 October), and the ASNB distribution table. Also removed: the direct-debit deduction dates (1st, 10th or 27th), which PTPTN's pages do not state. Also removed: the "What is not covered" paragraph and the "equivalent first-year boost" line (neither could be sourced), and the claim that SSPN invests primarily in government securities and sukuk, which PTPTN's 2024 dividend release replaces with "long-term fixed deposits and sukuk". Also removed: the list of eligible institutions (public universities, private universities and colleges, polytechnics and community colleges, selected overseas institutions), which no PTPTN or LHDN page we could read states, and the "RM8,000/year per parent" wording in the steps list, now "aim for a net deposit of RM8,000 a year". Evidence: docs/verification-log/evidence-batch-j-oct17/ (ptptn-*.html, hasil-pelepasan-cukai.html).
Amendment, 25 October 2026 (record keeping and filing date). Corrected: the "Claim the relief" step and the "Tax claim" line said to keep PTPTN statements "for 7 years"; both now say seven years after the end of the year in which you file the return, as LHDN's Form BE notes ask. Removed: "filed by April 2026" in the "Tax claim" line (now "filed in 2026"), because LHDN's filing programme could not be read again (hasil.gov.my returned a "URL blocked" page to us on 17 and 25 October 2026). Evidence: docs/verification-log/followups-tax-epf-oct25/evidence.md.
Amendment, 25 October 2026 (ASB track record). Removed: "Since ASB's launch in 1990, dividends have never been zero and the fixed-price NAV has never fallen below RM1.00" and "it is a 35-year performance record unmatched by virtually any comparable low-risk instrument in Malaysia" (ASB section). No primary source for either was read (docs/verification-log/evidence-batch-i-oct17, ASB track-record row, HELD). The paragraph now says ASNB lists ASB at a fixed RM1.00 price, that the payout and price record is not verified (HELD), and that ASB is not PIDM-covered. No figure changed.
