Budget 2027: what it means for your household
Budget 2027 was tabled on 9 October 2026. This page lists the household measures we have checked against the Ministry of Finance's speech, tax annex and summary of measures: who each one affects, how much, when it starts, and whether it is announced, gazetted or in force. Every row links to its source.
Rules as of 17 October 2026. Tabling date: Ministry of Finance, Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), cover page: delivered in the Dewan Rakyat on 9 October 2026
Household measures
Every row below is an announced Budget proposal. None is law yet.
| Measure | Who it affects | How much | Starts | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash aidSTR and SARA: RM16 billion for 2027 | STR and SARA recipients | RM16 billion, up from RM15 billion | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 11 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidSARA of up to RM150 a month for every STR recipient | All STR recipients, up to 9 million people | Up to RM150 a month (RM1,800 a year) | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 11 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidSARA MADANI: RM100, paid twice, for adults who don't get STR | Malaysians aged 18 and over who don't receive STR, including the M40: up to 13 million people | RM100 before Hari Raya Aidilfitri and RM100 ahead of the 70th Merdeka (National Day) anniversary | Before Hari Raya Aidilfitri, and ahead of the 70th Merdeka anniversary | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 11 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidSARA can be used for fresh produce at FAMA farmers' markets and tamu | SARA recipients | SARA can be used to buy fresh produce and perishable goods at 216 Pasar Tani (farmers' markets) or tamu under FAMA nationwide. No amount stated | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 11 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidExtra SARA for the poor and the hardcore poor: RM100 or RM50 a month | People classed as poor (miskin) and hardcore poor (miskin tegar), in the summary's STR and SARA table | RM100 or RM50 a month, shown as RM1,200 or RM600 a year. The table writes the two amounts as one pair and does not say which group gets which | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 2 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidCare assistance for bedridden OKU and chronically ill patients rises to RM600 | Recipients of care assistance for bedridden OKU and chronically ill patients | RM600 a month, up from RM500 | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 34 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidIncome limit for the Disabled Workers Allowance rises from RM1,700 to RM2,000 | Workers with disabilities (OKU) whose income decides if they qualify for the allowance | Income threshold for eligibility: RM2,000, up from RM1,700 | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 34 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidHome repair aid for disaster victims rises from RM5,000 to RM10,000 | Disaster victims whose homes need repair | RM10,000, up from RM5,000 | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 56 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidOne-off RM1,000 aid for taxi drivers, including rental-car drivers | 38 thousand taxi drivers, including rental-car drivers | One-off RM1,000 | No payment date given. The speech said 'next week' (12-16 October 2026), but on 17 October 2026 the taxi page of the Ministry of Transport's aid portal (bantuanpemandu.mot.gov.my) said 'Tidak tersedia buat masa ini' (not available at the moment) | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 84 (9 October 2026) |
| Cash aidOne-off RM1,000 aid for school-bus drivers, paid in stages from 22 October to 2 November 2026 | School-bus drivers whom a licensed school-bus operator appoints and lists on the Ministry of Transport portal, with an active public service vehicle (PSV) licence. Each school-bus permit qualifies only one driver. The operator, not the driver, enters the driver's details from 16 October to 27 October 2026 | RM1,000 per driver, paid once, directly into the bank account the operator entered on the portal | Paid in stages from 22 October to 2 November 2026 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Ministry of Transport school-bus driver aid portal, FAQ (Soalan Lazim), as read on 17 October 2026. Announced in the Budget 2027 speech (page 84): RM1,000 one-off for 15 thousand school-bus drivers ("15 ribu pemandu bas sekolah") |
| Cash aidBUDI Belia: RM100 e-wallet incentive for youth who complete volunteering hours | Young people who complete the volunteering hours with selected NGOs | RM100 e-wallet incentive. The speech says the Government will introduce the programme | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 77 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxIndividual tax relief rises to RM12,000 | Individual taxpayers, for themselves and dependent relatives | RM12,000, up from RM9,000, from the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 2, page 6 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxLower income tax rates for two middle bands | Resident individuals, on the part of their chargeable income between RM70,001 and RM150,000 | RM70,001 to RM100,000: 18%, down from 19%. RM100,001 to RM150,000: 24%, down from 25%. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 1, pages 4-5 (9 October 2026) |
| Tax30% income tax band starts above RM1,000,000, down from RM2,000,000 | Resident individuals, on the part of their chargeable income above RM1,000,000 | RM600,001 to RM1,000,000: 28%, rate unchanged (the band used to run to RM2,000,000). Above RM1,000,000: 30% (used to be above RM2,000,000). From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 1, pages 4-5 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxLifestyle tax relief adds AI software subscriptions and pet-care costs | Individual taxpayers claiming the lifestyle relief | Added: subscriptions to AI software and applications for yourself, your spouse or a child; the cost of adopting a pet from a registered animal shelter; and registered veterinary services for vaccination and spaying or neutering. The lifestyle relief limit stays at RM2,500 with the wider scope. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 6, page 12 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxSports tax relief adds sports shoes, up to RM300 | Individual taxpayers claiming the sports-related lifestyle relief | Sports shoes up to RM300. The sports-related lifestyle relief limit stays at RM1,000. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 7, page 13 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxTax reliefs widen to cover postpartum care and children's tuition | Individual taxpayers claiming the Health and Well-being relief or the Education and Skills Training Fees relief | Postpartum care services from a confinement centre or a qualified individual: up to RM3,000, within the RM10,000 Health and Well-being relief. Children's courses, training, classes or tuition in STEM, arts, languages and religion: up to RM2,000, a limit shared with fees for the taxpayer's or spouse's own non-work skills and self-improvement classes, within the RM7,000 Education and Skills Training Fees relief. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 4 and 5, pages 8-9 and 11 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxParents' and grandparents' care relief covers all care expenses | Individual taxpayers claiming the relief for expenses on their parents and grandparents | Care at home, in day-care centres and in residential care centres is widened to all types of care expense, not only health care. The relief limit is RM8,000 under the current rules. Proof: a written declaration from the carer (not yourself, your spouse or your child) or a copy of the carer's work permit, with receipts; a registered medical practitioner's confirmation is not required. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 3, page 7 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxDomestic tourism tax relief extended for the 2027 year of assessment | Individual taxpayers claiming the tourism-expenses relief | Relief of up to RM1,000 on entrance fees to tourist attractions such as museums, zoos, theme parks, national parks, marine parks and geoparks, and to cultural and arts programmes, given for the 2026 year of assessment, is extended for one year | For the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 8, page 14 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxSOCSO relief adds mandatory Lindung Kendiri; up to RM150 extra for voluntary schemes | Workers paying mandatory Lindung Kendiri contributions (passenger transport, goods or food transport, hawkers) or voluntary Lindung 24 or Lindung Kendiri contributions (17 non-mandatory sectors) | Mandatory Lindung Kendiri contributions are added to the SOCSO relief, with the existing limit staying at RM350. An additional relief of up to RM150 for voluntary contributions to Lindung 24 (the Non-Employment Injury Scheme) and to Lindung Kendiri in 17 non-mandatory sectors. From the 2027 year of assessment | From the 2027 year of assessment | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 9, page 15 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxStamp duty exempt on opening savings and current accounts | Individuals and businesses opening savings or current accounts | 100% stamp duty exemption on the instrument for opening a savings or current account that contains an undertaking creating a separate obligation, indemnity, guarantee or legal liability. Stamp duty of RM10 is charged on these instruments under the current rules | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 18, page 24 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxEmployers can deduct PTPTN repayments they make for employees | Employers that repay PTPTN loans on behalf of their employees; the employee must be full-time | Tax deduction for 2 years on PTPTN loan repayments an employer makes on behalf of employees, if the employer charges the employee nothing in return, the employee is full-time, and the employee is not the business owner or a family member of the employer. For repayments made from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2028 | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 30, page 41 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxElderly-care service tax cut from 8% to 6%; registered centres exempt on annual fees up to RM96,000 per senior citizen | Elderly-care services and the centres that provide them, including centres registered under the Care Centres Act 1993 or the Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 2018 | Service tax rate on elderly-care services: 6%, down from 8%. For annual care fees or charges up to RM96,000 per senior citizen: service tax exemption for providers registered under the Care Centres Act 1993 or the Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 2018. Above RM96,000 per senior citizen: 6% service tax | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 34, page 46 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxEntertainment duty exempt on local film and theatre tickets in the Federal Territories | People buying tickets to local film screenings (cinemas) and local theatre performances in the Federal Territories | 100% entertainment duty exemption, for 4 years, for applications the Ministry of Finance receives from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030 | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 35, pages 47-48 (9 October 2026) |
| TaxLangkawi and Labuan duty-free limit revised to RM10,000 | Tourists and visitors bringing goods out of Langkawi or Labuan into the Principal Customs Area | Limit of RM10,000 on the value of goods eligible for import duty and sales tax exemption, with a duration of visit of 48 hours. It covers all new goods except tyres and tubes, liquor, cigarettes, tobacco products, tobacco pipes, and e-cigarettes and vapes (including liquids or gels). Tax treatment on Tioman, Pangkor and Pulau 1, Forest City is unchanged | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 32, page 44 (9 October 2026) |
| WagesMinimum wage rises to RM2,000 from June 2027 | Workers covered by the minimum wage (more than 4 million). MSMEs with sales below RM50 million are exempt from the new rate | RM2,000, up from RM1,700 | From June 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 14 (9 October 2026) |
| WagesMinimum wage of RM2,500 a month to be introduced for semi-skilled jobs and graduates | Workers in semi-skilled jobs and graduates | RM2,500 a month 'as a start' of a reform of the workers' income framework | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 14 (9 October 2026) |
| EPFEvery citizen to be registered automatically as an EPF member at 18 | Citizens reaching age 18 | Automatic registration as an EPF member on reaching age 18, so that retirement savings start earlier. No contribution amount stated | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 17 (9 October 2026) |
| EPFEPF i-Emas: members can choose monthly withdrawals at 55 and 60 | EPF members who reach 55 and 60 | Option to receive monthly withdrawals, so the remaining savings keep earning dividends. No amount stated | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 34 (9 October 2026) |
| EPFEPF matching for e-hailing and p-hailing drivers | E-hailing and p-hailing drivers who contribute to EPF | Up to RM600 a year, RM6,000 over a lifetime | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 17 (9 October 2026) |
| HousingFirst-home stamp duty exemption extended to 2030 and widened to homes up to RM750,000 | Malaysian citizens buying a first home | Full exemption on loan agreements and instruments of transfer for a first home up to RM500,000. For a home up to RM750,000: full exemption on the first RM500,000 and 50% on the rest. For sale and purchase agreements executed from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030 | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 16, page 22 (9 October 2026) |
| HousingSJKP housing-financing guarantees of up to RM20 billion for first-home buyers | First-home buyers, particularly the self-employed without a fixed income: 80 thousand to be helped | Guarantees of up to RM20 billion | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 26 (9 October 2026) |
| HousingStamp duty exemption given again for rescued abandoned housing projects | Rescuing contractors or developers and original buyers, for abandoned housing projects certified by the Ministry of Housing and Local Government | 100% stamp duty exemption on loan agreements and instruments of transfer executed by rescuing contractors or developers and by original buyers. For agreements and instruments executed from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030 | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 tax measures (Langkah Cukai), Lampiran 17, page 23 (9 October 2026) |
| HealthPeKa B40 offers STR recipients and spouses aged 40 and over free health screening | STR recipients and their spouses aged 40 and over | Free health screening, medical-device assistance and a cancer-treatment incentive, with an allocation of RM80 million | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 38 (9 October 2026) |
| HealthFrom 2027, private hospital bills use uniform, transparent charge categories | Patients of private hospitals | No amount stated. Bills use uniform and transparent charge categories, so that patients understand each charge and price distortion can be reduced | From 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 38 (9 October 2026) |
| InsuranceMediAsas medical plan launches in January 2027 | EPF members under 55, who can pay the premium from Akaun Sejahtera, and SMEs with fewer than 75 workers | Described as affordable; no premium amount is stated. SMEs with fewer than 75 workers get RM200 per worker towards the first year's premium, for up to 50 workers per company | From January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), pages 37-38 (9 October 2026) |
| EducationEarly Schooling Aid (Bantuan Awal Persekolahan) rises from RM150 to RM200 per pupil | Pupils eligible for the aid: 5.3 million | RM200 per pupil, up from RM150, with an allocation of RM1 billion. The speech's example: a family with four children would receive RM800 for the 2027 school session | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 42 (9 October 2026) |
| EducationPTPTN repayments deferred in 2027 for low earners | PTPTN borrowers with a gross income of up to RM2,500 a month, subject to an income check with LHDN | Repayment deferment for 2027 | In 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), pages 26-27 (9 October 2026) |
| EducationPTPTN minimum repayment of RM50 a month in 2027 for borrowers earning RM2,501 to RM3,000 | PTPTN borrowers with a gross income of RM2,501 to RM3,000 a month, subject to an income check with LHDN | Minimum repayment of RM50 a month | In 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), pages 26-27 (9 October 2026) |
| Education10% PTPTN repayment discount for borrowers with no arrears who repay regularly | PTPTN borrowers who repay on schedule: no arrears, and regular repayments | Repayment discount of 10%. The source does not say what the 10% is taken off, or how to qualify beyond these two conditions | In 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), pages 26-27 (9 October 2026) |
| EducationAllowance for pupils with special education needs rises from RM150 to RM200 a month | Pupils with special education needs, including autistic children | RM200 a month, up from RM150 | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 34 (9 October 2026) |
| EducationFlySiswa flight voucher rises from RM400 to RM500 | 60,000 students, for flights between Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan | A digital voucher worth RM500, up from RM400, for buying flight tickets between Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 27 (9 October 2026) |
| TransportNew MyKomuter50 initiative for KTM Komuter at RM50 a month, and My50 continues | KTM Komuter riders who are eligible Malaysian citizens (40,000 expected to benefit), and Rapid KL bus and rail users on My50 | RM50 a month for unlimited travel: 30 days on the Rapid KL rail and bus network (My50), all KTM Komuter lines (MyKomuter50) | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 29 (9 October 2026) |
| ElectricityNUR MADANI rebate of up to RM200 for five-star fridges and air conditioners and RM100 for four-star appliances | Buyers of five-star fridges and air conditioners and of four-star appliances | A rebate of up to RM200 for a five-star fridge or air conditioner and RM100 for four-star appliances. The summary writes 'up to' once, before RM200, and does not say whether it also applies to the RM100. It says the rebate is to help reduce electricity use and cost | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 32 (9 October 2026) |
| Civil serviceCivil-service maternity leave rises from 360 to 490 days over a career | Civil-service officers | Fully paid maternity leave over a career: 490 days, up from 360. Leave that can be used for each birth: improved, at between 60 and 98 days | 1 January 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 80 (9 October 2026) |
| Civil serviceLowest pension rate rises from RM1,000 to RM1,350 a month | Retirees and derived-pension recipients, including Armed Forces (ATM) veterans: 58,829 people, listed under civil-service welfare | RM1,350 a month, up from RM1,000 | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 measures summary (Ringkasan Langkah Belanjawan, Lampiran 1), page 80 (9 October 2026) |
| OtherSOCSO matching: 35% for e-hailing and p-hailing workers, 70% for some self-employed | E-hailing and p-hailing workers; more than 200 thousand self-employed people in 17 non-mandatory sectors | 35% matching contribution incentive for e-hailing and p-hailing workers, raised to 50% if the platform company also pays contributions for its workers. 70% matching contribution incentive for more than 200 thousand self-employed people in 17 non-mandatory sectors | Not stated | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 16 (9 October 2026) |
| OtherBankruptcy threshold rises from RM100,000 to RM150,000 from 2027 | People who could face bankruptcy | Threshold raised from RM100,000 to RM150,000 | From 2027 | Announced, not yet gazetted | Budget 2027 speech (Ucapan Belanjawan, Malay original), page 35 (9 October 2026) |
Cash aid
STR and SARA: RM16 billion for 2027
- Who it affects
- STR and SARA recipients
- How much
- RM16 billion, up from RM15 billion
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
SARA of up to RM150 a month for every STR recipient
- Who it affects
- All STR recipients, up to 9 million people
- How much
- Up to RM150 a month (RM1,800 a year)
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
SARA MADANI: RM100, paid twice, for adults who don't get STR
- Who it affects
- Malaysians aged 18 and over who don't receive STR, including the M40: up to 13 million people
- How much
- RM100 before Hari Raya Aidilfitri and RM100 ahead of the 70th Merdeka (National Day) anniversary
- Starts
- Before Hari Raya Aidilfitri, and ahead of the 70th Merdeka anniversary
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
SARA can be used for fresh produce at FAMA farmers' markets and tamu
- Who it affects
- SARA recipients
- How much
- SARA can be used to buy fresh produce and perishable goods at 216 Pasar Tani (farmers' markets) or tamu under FAMA nationwide. No amount stated
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
Extra SARA for the poor and the hardcore poor: RM100 or RM50 a month
- Who it affects
- People classed as poor (miskin) and hardcore poor (miskin tegar), in the summary's STR and SARA table
- How much
- RM100 or RM50 a month, shown as RM1,200 or RM600 a year. The table writes the two amounts as one pair and does not say which group gets which
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
Care assistance for bedridden OKU and chronically ill patients rises to RM600
- Who it affects
- Recipients of care assistance for bedridden OKU and chronically ill patients
- How much
- RM600 a month, up from RM500
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
Income limit for the Disabled Workers Allowance rises from RM1,700 to RM2,000
- Who it affects
- Workers with disabilities (OKU) whose income decides if they qualify for the allowance
- How much
- Income threshold for eligibility: RM2,000, up from RM1,700
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
Home repair aid for disaster victims rises from RM5,000 to RM10,000
- Who it affects
- Disaster victims whose homes need repair
- How much
- RM10,000, up from RM5,000
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
One-off RM1,000 aid for taxi drivers, including rental-car drivers
- Who it affects
- 38 thousand taxi drivers, including rental-car drivers
- How much
- One-off RM1,000
- Starts
- No payment date given. The speech said 'next week' (12-16 October 2026), but on 17 October 2026 the taxi page of the Ministry of Transport's aid portal (bantuanpemandu.mot.gov.my) said 'Tidak tersedia buat masa ini' (not available at the moment)
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
One-off RM1,000 aid for school-bus drivers, paid in stages from 22 October to 2 November 2026
- Who it affects
- School-bus drivers whom a licensed school-bus operator appoints and lists on the Ministry of Transport portal, with an active public service vehicle (PSV) licence. Each school-bus permit qualifies only one driver. The operator, not the driver, enters the driver's details from 16 October to 27 October 2026
- How much
- RM1,000 per driver, paid once, directly into the bank account the operator entered on the portal
- Starts
- Paid in stages from 22 October to 2 November 2026
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Cash aid
BUDI Belia: RM100 e-wallet incentive for youth who complete volunteering hours
- Who it affects
- Young people who complete the volunteering hours with selected NGOs
- How much
- RM100 e-wallet incentive. The speech says the Government will introduce the programme
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Individual tax relief rises to RM12,000
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers, for themselves and dependent relatives
- How much
- RM12,000, up from RM9,000, from the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Lower income tax rates for two middle bands
- Who it affects
- Resident individuals, on the part of their chargeable income between RM70,001 and RM150,000
- How much
- RM70,001 to RM100,000: 18%, down from 19%. RM100,001 to RM150,000: 24%, down from 25%. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
30% income tax band starts above RM1,000,000, down from RM2,000,000
- Who it affects
- Resident individuals, on the part of their chargeable income above RM1,000,000
- How much
- RM600,001 to RM1,000,000: 28%, rate unchanged (the band used to run to RM2,000,000). Above RM1,000,000: 30% (used to be above RM2,000,000). From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Lifestyle tax relief adds AI software subscriptions and pet-care costs
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers claiming the lifestyle relief
- How much
- Added: subscriptions to AI software and applications for yourself, your spouse or a child; the cost of adopting a pet from a registered animal shelter; and registered veterinary services for vaccination and spaying or neutering. The lifestyle relief limit stays at RM2,500 with the wider scope. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Sports tax relief adds sports shoes, up to RM300
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers claiming the sports-related lifestyle relief
- How much
- Sports shoes up to RM300. The sports-related lifestyle relief limit stays at RM1,000. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Tax reliefs widen to cover postpartum care and children's tuition
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers claiming the Health and Well-being relief or the Education and Skills Training Fees relief
- How much
- Postpartum care services from a confinement centre or a qualified individual: up to RM3,000, within the RM10,000 Health and Well-being relief. Children's courses, training, classes or tuition in STEM, arts, languages and religion: up to RM2,000, a limit shared with fees for the taxpayer's or spouse's own non-work skills and self-improvement classes, within the RM7,000 Education and Skills Training Fees relief. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Parents' and grandparents' care relief covers all care expenses
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers claiming the relief for expenses on their parents and grandparents
- How much
- Care at home, in day-care centres and in residential care centres is widened to all types of care expense, not only health care. The relief limit is RM8,000 under the current rules. Proof: a written declaration from the carer (not yourself, your spouse or your child) or a copy of the carer's work permit, with receipts; a registered medical practitioner's confirmation is not required. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Domestic tourism tax relief extended for the 2027 year of assessment
- Who it affects
- Individual taxpayers claiming the tourism-expenses relief
- How much
- Relief of up to RM1,000 on entrance fees to tourist attractions such as museums, zoos, theme parks, national parks, marine parks and geoparks, and to cultural and arts programmes, given for the 2026 year of assessment, is extended for one year
- Starts
- For the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
SOCSO relief adds mandatory Lindung Kendiri; up to RM150 extra for voluntary schemes
- Who it affects
- Workers paying mandatory Lindung Kendiri contributions (passenger transport, goods or food transport, hawkers) or voluntary Lindung 24 or Lindung Kendiri contributions (17 non-mandatory sectors)
- How much
- Mandatory Lindung Kendiri contributions are added to the SOCSO relief, with the existing limit staying at RM350. An additional relief of up to RM150 for voluntary contributions to Lindung 24 (the Non-Employment Injury Scheme) and to Lindung Kendiri in 17 non-mandatory sectors. From the 2027 year of assessment
- Starts
- From the 2027 year of assessment
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Stamp duty exempt on opening savings and current accounts
- Who it affects
- Individuals and businesses opening savings or current accounts
- How much
- 100% stamp duty exemption on the instrument for opening a savings or current account that contains an undertaking creating a separate obligation, indemnity, guarantee or legal liability. Stamp duty of RM10 is charged on these instruments under the current rules
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Employers can deduct PTPTN repayments they make for employees
- Who it affects
- Employers that repay PTPTN loans on behalf of their employees; the employee must be full-time
- How much
- Tax deduction for 2 years on PTPTN loan repayments an employer makes on behalf of employees, if the employer charges the employee nothing in return, the employee is full-time, and the employee is not the business owner or a family member of the employer. For repayments made from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2028
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Elderly-care service tax cut from 8% to 6%; registered centres exempt on annual fees up to RM96,000 per senior citizen
- Who it affects
- Elderly-care services and the centres that provide them, including centres registered under the Care Centres Act 1993 or the Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 2018
- How much
- Service tax rate on elderly-care services: 6%, down from 8%. For annual care fees or charges up to RM96,000 per senior citizen: service tax exemption for providers registered under the Care Centres Act 1993 or the Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 2018. Above RM96,000 per senior citizen: 6% service tax
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Entertainment duty exempt on local film and theatre tickets in the Federal Territories
- Who it affects
- People buying tickets to local film screenings (cinemas) and local theatre performances in the Federal Territories
- How much
- 100% entertainment duty exemption, for 4 years, for applications the Ministry of Finance receives from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Tax
Langkawi and Labuan duty-free limit revised to RM10,000
- Who it affects
- Tourists and visitors bringing goods out of Langkawi or Labuan into the Principal Customs Area
- How much
- Limit of RM10,000 on the value of goods eligible for import duty and sales tax exemption, with a duration of visit of 48 hours. It covers all new goods except tyres and tubes, liquor, cigarettes, tobacco products, tobacco pipes, and e-cigarettes and vapes (including liquids or gels). Tax treatment on Tioman, Pangkor and Pulau 1, Forest City is unchanged
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Wages
Minimum wage rises to RM2,000 from June 2027
- Who it affects
- Workers covered by the minimum wage (more than 4 million). MSMEs with sales below RM50 million are exempt from the new rate
- How much
- RM2,000, up from RM1,700
- Starts
- From June 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Wages
Minimum wage of RM2,500 a month to be introduced for semi-skilled jobs and graduates
- Who it affects
- Workers in semi-skilled jobs and graduates
- How much
- RM2,500 a month 'as a start' of a reform of the workers' income framework
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
EPF
Every citizen to be registered automatically as an EPF member at 18
- Who it affects
- Citizens reaching age 18
- How much
- Automatic registration as an EPF member on reaching age 18, so that retirement savings start earlier. No contribution amount stated
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
EPF
EPF i-Emas: members can choose monthly withdrawals at 55 and 60
- Who it affects
- EPF members who reach 55 and 60
- How much
- Option to receive monthly withdrawals, so the remaining savings keep earning dividends. No amount stated
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
EPF
EPF matching for e-hailing and p-hailing drivers
- Who it affects
- E-hailing and p-hailing drivers who contribute to EPF
- How much
- Up to RM600 a year, RM6,000 over a lifetime
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Housing
First-home stamp duty exemption extended to 2030 and widened to homes up to RM750,000
- Who it affects
- Malaysian citizens buying a first home
- How much
- Full exemption on loan agreements and instruments of transfer for a first home up to RM500,000. For a home up to RM750,000: full exemption on the first RM500,000 and 50% on the rest. For sale and purchase agreements executed from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Housing
SJKP housing-financing guarantees of up to RM20 billion for first-home buyers
- Who it affects
- First-home buyers, particularly the self-employed without a fixed income: 80 thousand to be helped
- How much
- Guarantees of up to RM20 billion
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Housing
Stamp duty exemption given again for rescued abandoned housing projects
- Who it affects
- Rescuing contractors or developers and original buyers, for abandoned housing projects certified by the Ministry of Housing and Local Government
- How much
- 100% stamp duty exemption on loan agreements and instruments of transfer executed by rescuing contractors or developers and by original buyers. For agreements and instruments executed from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2030
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Health
PeKa B40 offers STR recipients and spouses aged 40 and over free health screening
- Who it affects
- STR recipients and their spouses aged 40 and over
- How much
- Free health screening, medical-device assistance and a cancer-treatment incentive, with an allocation of RM80 million
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Health
From 2027, private hospital bills use uniform, transparent charge categories
- Who it affects
- Patients of private hospitals
- How much
- No amount stated. Bills use uniform and transparent charge categories, so that patients understand each charge and price distortion can be reduced
- Starts
- From 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Insurance
MediAsas medical plan launches in January 2027
- Who it affects
- EPF members under 55, who can pay the premium from Akaun Sejahtera, and SMEs with fewer than 75 workers
- How much
- Described as affordable; no premium amount is stated. SMEs with fewer than 75 workers get RM200 per worker towards the first year's premium, for up to 50 workers per company
- Starts
- From January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
Early Schooling Aid (Bantuan Awal Persekolahan) rises from RM150 to RM200 per pupil
- Who it affects
- Pupils eligible for the aid: 5.3 million
- How much
- RM200 per pupil, up from RM150, with an allocation of RM1 billion. The speech's example: a family with four children would receive RM800 for the 2027 school session
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
PTPTN repayments deferred in 2027 for low earners
- Who it affects
- PTPTN borrowers with a gross income of up to RM2,500 a month, subject to an income check with LHDN
- How much
- Repayment deferment for 2027
- Starts
- In 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
PTPTN minimum repayment of RM50 a month in 2027 for borrowers earning RM2,501 to RM3,000
- Who it affects
- PTPTN borrowers with a gross income of RM2,501 to RM3,000 a month, subject to an income check with LHDN
- How much
- Minimum repayment of RM50 a month
- Starts
- In 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
10% PTPTN repayment discount for borrowers with no arrears who repay regularly
- Who it affects
- PTPTN borrowers who repay on schedule: no arrears, and regular repayments
- How much
- Repayment discount of 10%. The source does not say what the 10% is taken off, or how to qualify beyond these two conditions
- Starts
- In 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
Allowance for pupils with special education needs rises from RM150 to RM200 a month
- Who it affects
- Pupils with special education needs, including autistic children
- How much
- RM200 a month, up from RM150
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Education
FlySiswa flight voucher rises from RM400 to RM500
- Who it affects
- 60,000 students, for flights between Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan
- How much
- A digital voucher worth RM500, up from RM400, for buying flight tickets between Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Transport
New MyKomuter50 initiative for KTM Komuter at RM50 a month, and My50 continues
- Who it affects
- KTM Komuter riders who are eligible Malaysian citizens (40,000 expected to benefit), and Rapid KL bus and rail users on My50
- How much
- RM50 a month for unlimited travel: 30 days on the Rapid KL rail and bus network (My50), all KTM Komuter lines (MyKomuter50)
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Electricity
NUR MADANI rebate of up to RM200 for five-star fridges and air conditioners and RM100 for four-star appliances
- Who it affects
- Buyers of five-star fridges and air conditioners and of four-star appliances
- How much
- A rebate of up to RM200 for a five-star fridge or air conditioner and RM100 for four-star appliances. The summary writes 'up to' once, before RM200, and does not say whether it also applies to the RM100. It says the rebate is to help reduce electricity use and cost
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Civil service
Civil-service maternity leave rises from 360 to 490 days over a career
- Who it affects
- Civil-service officers
- How much
- Fully paid maternity leave over a career: 490 days, up from 360. Leave that can be used for each birth: improved, at between 60 and 98 days
- Starts
- 1 January 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Civil service
Lowest pension rate rises from RM1,000 to RM1,350 a month
- Who it affects
- Retirees and derived-pension recipients, including Armed Forces (ATM) veterans: 58,829 people, listed under civil-service welfare
- How much
- RM1,350 a month, up from RM1,000
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Other
SOCSO matching: 35% for e-hailing and p-hailing workers, 70% for some self-employed
- Who it affects
- E-hailing and p-hailing workers; more than 200 thousand self-employed people in 17 non-mandatory sectors
- How much
- 35% matching contribution incentive for e-hailing and p-hailing workers, raised to 50% if the platform company also pays contributions for its workers. 70% matching contribution incentive for more than 200 thousand self-employed people in 17 non-mandatory sectors
- Starts
- Not stated
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
Other
Bankruptcy threshold rises from RM100,000 to RM150,000 from 2027
- Who it affects
- People who could face bankruptcy
- How much
- Threshold raised from RM100,000 to RM150,000
- Starts
- From 2027
- Status
- Announced, not yet gazetted
What to watch for
Questions, not predictions. If the Budget answers one, the measure appears under Household measures once we have checked it.
- Cash aidWhat will STR and SARA pay in 2027, and when?
Last year's Budget, tabled on 10 October 2025, set the 2026 STR and SARA allocation at RM15 billion.
Source: MOF media statement — STR 2025 Phase 4 payment brought forward to 18 October 2025
- FuelDoes the BUDI95 quota or subsidised RON95 price change?
The BUDI95 monthly quota was cut to 200 litres and restored to 300 litres from 1 September.
Source: MOF media statement — BUDI MADANI quota back to 300 litres from 1 September 2026 (31 August 2026)
- Cash aidWill unused 2026 SARA credits still expire on 31 December?
Under the SARA 2026 FAQ, unused credit carries over from month to month and expires on 31 December 2026.
- ElectricityIs the bill protection for homes using up to 800 kWh extended past 31 December 2026?
Homes using up to 800 kWh a month pay no Automatic Fuel Adjustment, retail charge or SST on usage from September to 31 December 2026. The limit was raised from 600 kWh.
- InsuranceWhat happens to medical insurance premiums when BNM's interim measures end?
BNM's interim measures spread premium increases over at least three years and were set to run until the end of 2026.
Source: Bank Negara Malaysia — interim measures on medical and health insurance premiums (20 December 2024)
- TaxWhich personal tax reliefs change for YA2027?
In Budget 2026, tabled on 10 October 2025, the changes to individual tax reliefs took effect from the 2026 year of assessment.
Source: Budget 2026 — tax annex (Lampiran Cukai) (10 October 2025)
Useful before and after Budget day
Get the Ringgit Brief
Malaysia's money news in 5 minutes: aid payment dates, prices, rates, and what each change means for your wallet. One Brief a week, on Sunday.